Development with 4k resolution in mind

I am still new to lightning, right now trying to select technology to rework our existing Smart TV app. My question is about development for TV with 4k resolution.

When my app resolution is set to 1920x1080 the text seems blurry on high-res tv. I can see few ways to solve this:

1. set app resolution to 4k and precision to either 0.5 or 0.333 (for 1280x720). I am worried this way will consume too much resources

2. dynamically set app resolution to either 1920x1080, precision=1 or 4k, precision=0.5 and use helper function to calculate all dimensions in app code (i.e. (size) => res4k?size*2:size)
    Maybe there is a way to set global transformation function for all dimensions to keep code clean?

3. Render all text in 2x size and scale it down using scale: 0.5

I am leaning towards second approach, but would love to listen to your suggestions.

Chances are the TV is not displaying your web app at 4k because it would require a lot of memory. Ultimately you just want clearer text which there maybe other ways to fix that up. @frank for suggestions. Was there a particular TV you were working with?

Text rendering resolution is limited to the resolution that your app runs at. If your app runs at 1920x1080 on a 4K device then text will obviously not look 100% crisp. Instead it’s up to the TV’s upsampling capabilities in order to make a 1920x1080 image look as good as possible at 4K.

Methods 1 and 2 are the same thing. The resolution coordinates you author your app in is independent from what resolution you render your application in. If you set your app resolution stage config to 1920x1080 (which we recommend) then you can set the dimensions to 3840x2160 and the precision to 2.0 in order to render it at 4K (Playing around with this right now I actually noticed a bug with how word wrapping is applied to text in this configuration. We’re looking into it). All the coordinate/dimension adjusting is done for you by Lightning.